Tigerlily

13 Oct

“The blossoms of spring are blooming and the city air heavy as the day has been surprisingly warm, Cafés overflow onto the side walks and music is carried by the wind. The perfect day to sit, coffee in hand”

With winding streets of cobblestone, a rich history and gorgeous architecture, Edinburgh is easily on my list of cities across the world that inspire me.  I have fond childhood memories of the city, spending days at the castle with my mum and learning to spell “Edinburgh”, and going back to visit family recently was no different. 

Whilst I could tell you about the fascinating history of the dungeons or Mary Kings Close, I have chosen to tell you about something that sparks a delightful little fire in my heart,  Tigerlily cocktail bar. 

As you walk in the entrance your heels tap against the tiled floor, chandeliers hang from a high opulent ceiling, and ornate wallpapers decorate the wall. Mixing vibrant colours and décor in keeping with the buildings historic architect, Tigerlily strikes a balance between old world elegance and modern refinement. 

Walking past the bar you come to an indoor courtyard area with exquisite grand chairs with cushions of rich purple. Sitting down with my Aunty and mum we had much to catch up on, years of the smallest details missed. Whilst I cannot recall the name of the various cocktails we consumed we did enjoy them all and I was delighted with the presentation and glasses they came in.

If you ever find yourself stumbling along George St Edinburgh in desperate need of some inspiration and a cocktail or few, allow yourself to be emerged in the extravagant and intoxicating world of Tigerlily.

Tigerlily, 125 George Street Edinburgh

Toni-Yvonne

4 Responses to “Tigerlily”

  1. The Dainty Dolls House October 13, 2012 at 11:37 am #

    Edinburgh is a wonderful place, I love going there 🙂 Have a wonderful weekend xx

  2. Cafe Fashionista October 13, 2012 at 1:06 pm #

    These photographs are all so incredibly lovely! I follow you on Instagram, and I always swoon when I see your posts come up in my feed – beautiful! 🙂

  3. Dawn {The Alternative Wife} October 14, 2012 at 4:04 am #

    I hope to visit one day! Absolutely gorgeous post, darling. Your words and photos always transport me to such a beautiful place xoxo

  4. Oh to Be a Muse October 15, 2012 at 5:12 pm #

    Lovely pictures. They make me want to spend the afternoon sipping on drinks at the Tigerlily cocktail bar.

Leave a Reply

